Federated knowledge management with ActivityPub

Hello SocialPub

I am a researcher working in the field of Crisis Management and Climate Change Adaptation.

I would like to define and implement a federated knowledge management infrastructure for these sectors in Europe. Ideally, this new service type should seamlessly integrate in fediverse.

I’ve browsed through ActivityPub standard and my impression is that it should be possible to encode relatively complex data models for the types of information that is necessary (Gaps, Solutions, Examples, Standards…) , but I’m not sure what is the best way to do it. Has anyone already tried anything similar? Where can I find some examples of such data?

3 Likes

Hi Deno.

ActivityPub is a publishing protocol. So what one would use it for is to share updates on Data stored in other formats. ActivityPub itself has NO recommendations on how data is stored. Storing data however seems essential for knowledge management.

So what are your requirements? What should be integrated into the FediVerse?

Thanks!

A bit of a side note: There is Mastodon over Mammon - Towards publicly owned scholarly knowledge containing some speculation over how the FediVerse might replace peer reviewed journals. No where do they discuss that arXiv already provides free access (and often earlier) to a lot of the current research. At least it did so 10 to 20 years ago …

1 Like

Hi Deno,

As part of the openEngiadina project we did some research into using ActivityPub for a federated system for local knowledge - including information for crisis management.

I completely agree. The approach we follow is to model the data as RDF and then view ActivityPub as a protocol that distributes RDF data (encoded as JSON-LD). This allows crowd-sourcing and federated management of complex knowledge.

Some previous work that can be used with this approach: