When someone deletes their account permanently, their servers often seem to attempt to send a Delete activity, with the user as both actor and object, to every other server in the fediverse.
- Should the spec give an official ruling on whether and how this should be done?
- Is there really not a better way than spamming the entire world?
- There’s a validation problem. If I get a Delete activity from a user who no longer exists, and their key isn’t cached, I have to contact their server to look it up. The server will (reasonably) respond 410 Gone. Now what? Intuitively, in this specific circumstance, that status seems to validate the message. But according to the spec I should drop the message, even if I do have details of the user.