Best Place To Seek Help And Advice

Hi! I’m working on building a new social-ish platform called Kowloon that I’ve been chipping away at for a couple of years now. At its heart, it’s basically a microblog and feed reader, but I think more interesting than that sound, and it has some specific implementations of the social stuff that’s a bit different from the usual models. I’m writing it in MERN stack.

I’d really like to have Fediverse/ActivityPub interoperability built in from jump street, but the existing beginner tutorials seem primarily aimed at how to create a Mastodon server or integrate with it; I want to make sure that Kowloon can integrate with Mastodon, but it’s not the same sort of app, really. But I’d like to make it as easy as possible to convert from its built in data structures for posts, users, etc. to ActivityPub, while also optimizing it for the specific unique stuff I’m trying to do.

I’d like to find a community where I can ask really stupid questions so I can get this to some kind of working MVP – not because it’s commercial, it’s all going to be open-source, but because I want to get it to a point where it makes sense to people who might want to join in on the project.

Where would be the best place to do that? Is there a Discord that folks use? A messageboard? Is this the right place, and if so, which categories should I post in?

Thanks for any advice y’all can give me. I’ve never really tried anything of this scope before, so I’m a little lost, but I really think my architecture is worth actually turning into a working app.

Cheers!

1 Like

Ask away! No question is a stupid question.

Yep, this forum is it. There’s a W3C mailing list as well, but nothing else really – specific projects have their own issue trackers and other community spaces.

Feel free to talk more about it! If it’s a good app and architecture then we can discuss how ActivityPub may or may not help with that.

3 Likes

Yay!