[Brainstorming!] Take your verified badge with you? Verification on ActivityPub

:wave: Hey there! I’m brand new to ActivityPub (so apologies in advance for being not very knowledgeable).

I am hoping someone can help me brainstorm how it might be possible to achieve some cool new functionality using ActivityPub: a portable verified badge

Verification Today

Major social media platforms today provide a verification option, but:

• Either this is only available to select accounts, or it requires paying a subscription.
  • The verified badge on one platform is not reusable/portable: you can’t “take it with you” to another platform.
  • The verification process is opaque and specific to the platform in question, rather than a more general purpose utility.

Verification Tomorrow?

Here’s what I imagine as a better option:

• A user could list any verification they like on their ActivityPub profile. The verification itself could be done by any party (whether the social media platform implementing ActivityPub or an external entity, like an identity verification provider).
  • This verification could take the form of a link that resolves to a badge image that could be displayed by the social media platform and a proof of verification (ideally containing metadata about what was verified and how and which entity performed the verification).
  • This type of verified badge would be reusable/portable because it could be displayed by any implementation of ActivityPub.
  • And it would be properly federated, allowing for lots of different types of verification, performed by lots of different entities!
  • This could provide functionality beyond just basic verification, allowing people to show evidence of organizational affiliation for example.

For those who know much more than me about how ActivityPub works, would it be possible to enable this sort of thing within the existing framework? How might that work?

Would love to brainstorm with you!