Federated development and federated forges

Bonjour,

I’m very new federation. Over the years I heard rumors that it was good without understanding why and how. I ran a mastodon instance for a few years but did not use it much: I’m a developer and not much of a microblogger (reading or writing). Beginning of last year I started using https://peer.tube/ and was happy to see it work for real but did not use any of its federated features. But when https://joinmobilizon.org/ was announced I thought it made a lot of sense to organize events in a federated way: smart move. And all along I thought I should read about fediverse but I still have no idea what it means (really).

In my mind federation was an idea in the same category as the bloom filter data structure. I would learn about it when and if I had a need for it. But in the meantime I had more important things to do: I was working on online services. Until something clicked a few months ago and I understood that federation belongs to a different category. I would be unable to explain what clicked and why. And if I read the introduction of the Fediverse Futures Visions & dreams correctly, I may not be the only one. The best I could come up is something rather obscure when explaining it to friends: “Dry water does not make sense, it’s against the law of physics. In the same way proprietary software goes against the nature of software: it should all be free. Online services should all be federated, it is in their DNA, from storage to microblogging.” This is a little childish and reflects my enthusiasm and state of confusion more than anything.

From the day I understood online services should be federated, I started looking back at the software projects I was involved in under a different light.