Hello from hospitality exchange community devs!

Hi all, I am happy to be joining you!

I am a software engineer (backend java) and a long distance bike tourer.

I was a contributor to the community built WarmShowers Android app (50+K installs in app store) when the 30 years old organization connecting bicycle touring travelers and those who want to host them, over the period of 5 years slowly changed from fully open and transparent, volunteers built platform and apps to a payed service that locked its own community (160K members) behind paywall.

We published a message from the developers: https://WarmShowers.bike (where you can also find a short background story) and started to think about building next generation federated platform as a long term remedy for the issues bicycle touring and other hospitality exchange communities faced in recent years (CouchSurfing did similar thing).

Iā€™d like to discuss the idea more and possibly get some help in the direction where to go next.

Edit: I moved the idea to separate discussion: Hospitality exchange community considers moving to the fediverse ;)

5 Likes

What a wonderful stance and ditto initiative you are engaging with @mariha. You are most welcome to SocialHub, we love to have you and your team members in our midst. Reading from your profile on ā€œculture follows structureā€ I feel it works both ways, and an actual virtuous cycle is created, and after a while the culture become ā€˜custodianā€™ of the structure. You see this on the Fediverse too.

2 Likes

I am sure it does! Itā€™s known as Conwayā€™s low, that structure of a system designed by an organization tends to be isomorphic with that organization structure. Itā€™s a good reading in case you havenā€™t read it yet: How Do Committees Invent? .

Havenā€™t thought about it before but now as you wrote it I am very much looking forward to it!

1 Like