Help, trying to get my ahead around ActivityPub!

I’m new to the whole ActivityPub scene and it all seems very exciting but I’m not quite sure how it all works.

For starters, things like Mastadon, Friendica, PeerTube and Pixelfed are all services based on the ActivityPub protocol (according to: The many branches of the Fediverse) but what exactly does this mean in practice? For example, what, if anything, can a PeerTube client (or server?) do with a Mastadon ‘toot’ object? Ditto I assume PeerTube has some kind of custom object type for sharing videos - what can Mastadon do with these?

My understanding is that a ‘toot’ is a Mastadon extension of an ActivityPub ‘note’ object, so perhaps PeerTube can treat ‘toots’ as if they were ‘notes’, but without providing any support for the extra capabilites of ‘toots’?

But I’m really just guessing here, I’m a c++ coder by trade so I tend to think of things like this as ‘class hierarchies’ which seems reasonable enough given what I’ve read so far, but I’m still a bit puzzled by how useful it is to be able to ‘publish’ subclasses of a type that is only recognizable by one specialized service.

Bye!
Mark

Hope that makes a bit of sense!

Bye,
Mark

ActivityPub is a protocol to pass activities back and forth between actors. When an actor performs an activity, it sends a message to another actor’s inbox – like email, but for web services; you HTTP POST some JSON to the inbox endpoint.

Using the backing ActivityStreams 2.0 core spec and a subset of its vocabulary, you can represent actions taken on a remote service and handle them on your own service. ActivityPub defines side effects for certain activities like Follow, Create, Announce, Like, Update, Delete, Accept, Reject, Add, Remove, Undo. When receiving these activities in an inbox, the server will perform certain actions on the actor’s behalf.