Mastodon

It seems to be unwanted that I criticise the “elephant in the room” directly.
But please allow me at least to share an article.
Hoping for a productive debate!

The number of “active users” is just some math …

I don’t agree with a lot of this article, and I’ve contributed to a lot of fediverse projects now. Going to break it down point by point…

The problem

This section starts off by outlining an alleged history about GNU Social, that it was a “pile of shit trying to imitate Twitter and mostly filled with people banned by Twitter for GamerGate”. This is not really true, and I know this is not really true, because I have been using the fediverse since the 2000s.

While it is true that some GamerGate users discovered GNU Social and decided to start their own instances, GNU Social was primarily used by Indymedia contributors (indy.im) and FOSS developers (identi.ca). The original author of GNU Social went on to start Pump.io.

It then builds on this false allegation (that fedi was originally “alt-right people thrown off Twitter”) and the author questions why “tumblr/twitter leftists” adopted Mastodon (answer: good marketing). The author speculates that the reason is alleged safety features and that these leftist twitter/tumblr users were also being banned by twitter/tumblr. That is not how I remember the Mastodon launch, basically Mastodon capitalized on stupid decisions that those silos made with clever marketing.

Fedi is the least safe place around

The author argues that because the fediverse has a low bar to entry, that it is less safe. To some extent, it is true that a low bar to entry means a low bar for net-abuse, just like e-mail.