New to ActivityPub, How to implement non-microblog services?

Hello,

I’m new to activitypub. I want to implement a social network that is more like a forum, rather than twitter. After reading the spec, I’m not sure what the best way to implement it is. For example, should I treat each forum thread as a Person?

How to handle moderation (multiple people can delete a thread) etc.

if another activitypub server that doesn’t implement the same forum connects with my server (for example, Mastodon), will that mess things up?

2 Likes

Welcome!

It should be possible to use ActivityPub for forums, and the best way to think about how ActivityPub fits that use-case is to think about how to model typical activities. While the spec maps most cleanly onto email-like messaging, in practice it is generic enough to map onto any “actor-activity-object” model of information.

To answer specific questions:

The best way is whatever makes the most sense. If you need help with a specific mechanism, then feel free to ask more about that specific mechanism.

Nope. You would probably use a Collection or OrderedCollection.

You could have a system actor “own” the threads with attributedTo and then use that actor to send out either Delete and/or Remove activities. In your business logic you would handle multiple actors being able to call the delete function.

It might mess things up if you don’t handle edge cases properly. Otherwise, it should mostly be fine? A good idea would be to drop anything you don’t understand and transform whatever you do understand to fit your internal models.

More generally: an actor Creates a thread (OrderedCollection) that contains posts (activities) within the context of your thread. So a thread might look something like this:

id: example.com/threads/1
type: OrderedCollection
orderedItems: [
  {
  id: example.com/activities/1
  type: Create
  object: example.com/notes/1
  context: example.com/threads/1
  }
  {
  id: example.com/activities/2