Q: Extensibility (how to determine whether an arbitrary AP object is a subclass of another class?)

This question is a slight generalization of an AP issue closed a few days ago:

One of the recommended techniques is to:

1. Parse the context as JSON-LD, and identify if the type is a subtype of AS2:Activity. This is the “right way”.

I’m not an expert on JSON-LD but how is this done? In the existing AP JSON-LD context, I see no subtype information. For example, there doesn’t appear to be anything that could be used to know that a Create is a subtype of Activity. How would a new subtype of Activity, for example, be represented in a context extension?

i’m not entirely sure what evan meant by that, but option #3 (check for actor) is what works best in practice. this question has been posed on the w3c mailing list as well, as there seems to be no mechanism for subtyping in JSON-LD @context.

Thanks. Option #3 makes sense to me for Activities. For other subtyping relationships, it would be interesting to investigate if the same technique would work reliably (I’ve seen you suggest that “inbox” and “outbox” are hints that something is an Actor, for example).

I’ve looked at several AP implementations. So far, all of them use the “type” value to determine the type of an object (and typically have a hard-coded set of types they will process). For example, if an implementation extends OrderedCollection most implementations would ignore it as an unknown type (or treat it as an error) even though it is fully AP/AS2-compliant and included in the JSON-LD context (and could be reasonably processed by the implementation that only understands the base OrderedCollection).