Retooling or suspending the SocialCG

At the top of the hour is the usual time for the next SocialCG. Are we having one? I’ll show up at the usual place if anyone else does also.

But it feels like the SocialCG is, and has been, spinning its wheels for a long time, for two reasons:

• I’m too busy to organize, though I’m happy to run (or scribe) meetings, as I’ve said before. I’ve been fairly clear about this and have made various attempts to get others to help me do the organization but people are busy and it hasn’t happened… at the end of the day, I still remain the primary organizer, and I’m not good at it.
  • I don’t think the state of the SocialCG reflects the current structure of fediverse activity. The structure today reflects the structure of the SocialWG: list agenda items beforehand and go through them, and it’s mostly talk. Fediverse and ActivityPub development are vibrant places right now. I don’t know about you, but it doesn’t feel like the SocialCG currently reflects that vibrancy.

I have a suggestion on what we could do: have regular meetings, and people can schedule important action items, but in the general case it can be more like a usergroup first. By that I mean, we’ll switch from my Mumble server (audio-only) to an audio-video setup (like Jitsi Meet) and people can give presentations on what they’re working on… and if there aren’t presentations to give, we can at least talk about interesting topics that have come up on this forum. Thus this becomes more of an implementer support and idea generation group.

That last sentence reflects how SocialHub can perform interesting and useful roles for this group: a space for people to lay out ideas. If a thread becomes sufficiently interesting, someone can say “I think this would be interesting to talk about on the next SocialCG call!”