So about permissions, huh?

Hi all.

I want to get the discussion started about permission handling in the FediVerse. Unfortunately, I have little experience how to talk about permissions. So I want to start off with a simpler question:

What is the best format to specify permissions in?

The basic problem for me is the following, the average ActivityStreams object, i.e.

{
  "@context": "https://www.w3.org/ns/activitystreams",
  "attributedTo": "https://example.com/users/author",
  "type": "Note",
  "cc": "Public",
  "name": "A Word of Warning",
  "content": "Looks like it is going to rain today. Bring an umbrella!",
  "to": "https://example.com/users/someone"
}

contains a lot of information, from which permission information can be interfered. This interfered information might look like

EDIT: https://example.com/users/author
INTERACT: https://example.com/users/someone
VIEW: Public

or something similar. So my simple question can now be stated as: What is a good format to talk about EDIT, INTERACT, VIEW and their values.

As permissions should be ubiquitous in the software world, I hope there to be standard answers. I know about groups, roles, permissions that are commonly used in web applications. The situation with ActivityPub seems to be more complicated than can be mapped to this.

Bonus question

Is there a good way to encode something like if “Public” is present in “to” or “cc”, make the object viewable to the Public? If something is viewable to “Public”, it is viewable to any actor?

2 Likes

you can’t infer “interact” permissions at all. anyone who has the id of an object can refer to it.