The Block activity, how's that supposed to work?

I’m now at the point where I’m satisfied with my main features and almost ready to make my first release. Though in order to be a feasible fediverse server, I need to implement some sort of user blocking. So here goes.

The spec says that the Block activity is c2s only. Mastodon does send Block and Undo{Block} activities when you block and unblock a remote actor. What am I meant to do upon receipt of these activities? Remove all follow relationships and disallow the blocked actor any interactions with the originating actor and their content? Something else?

(I’m not really a fan of the whole “you see more if you log out” approach most social media implementations out there take, both centralized and not. I won’t be hiding anything publicly viewable if its author blocked you.)

1 Like