3-Stage Standards Process: Guaranteeing an open and decentralized ecosystem

Open ecosystem, open ecosystem, open ecosystem

In various channels where the Standards Process is discussed there’s mention of a 2-stage structure that goes like: FEP → W3C.

As I proposed many times before (like here, and here, and here, and implied here) I do NOT think that that is sufficient. Simply because it doesn’t match current reality, and will also not correspond to the future that we are able to shape.

On a technical level the Fediverse is decentralized (federated, and in future possibly hybrid p2p + federated), and we all agree that this is major important. Equally important is the realization that the grassroots evolution of the Fediverse by people expanding and improving it, is equally decentralized: The Fediverse consists of countless independent initiatives. This is the social perspective and a reality we SHOULD take into account.

I am for a living standard as mentioned by @melvincarvalho and in line with many people’s thoughts on the openness that is the big quality of the Fediverse to retain.

In any case what we want to establish is:

:point_right:  An open ecosystem that fosters decentralized evolution of the Fediverse.

The current FEP Process is on a good path to gain more traction, but it DOES NOT yet offer the guarantee above. Currently it is positioned to do everything but the kitchen sink: you must write your FEP with us, does not take decentralized communities and devhubs into account.

In order to do so I feel the Standards Process MUST be 3-stage. Reversing the steps as I listed them before, that then boils down to:

1. AP extensions (msg formats + behaviors for particular use cases) emerge/evolve in-the-wild.
  2. FEP / SocialHub provide a pathway to further standardization and broader adoption.
    • FEP makes AP extensions discoverable, may offer an NPM-like registry for that.