Fediverse platform for Movies!

I love the Fediverse and I love cinema :popcorn:, I don’t think I am the only one…
I am surprised nobody has realized a Fediverse software for movies, yet!

I am tired of IMDb, and any other alternative is centralized, proprietary software.

What I think could be done is to develop a fork of Bookwyrm with the same features, but some key differences that make it the go-to solution for tracking movies you want to watch and that you watched, as well as sharing your thoughts with your friends. I already emailed Mouse Reeve, Bookwyrm’s creator and main maintainer, about this possibility.

I am keeping notes concerning this idea:

Unfortunately, even though I am a Fediverse enthusiast and I cannot stop talking about it with everybody, I am no developer and I cannot practically start working on this, also because my time is too limited to work on such a software. Nevertheless, I hope writing this post could inspire somebody to code something and start a Fediverse platform for movies! :heart_eyes:

Of course I am available for anything else concerning the project: website creation, marketing, bug testing and community moderation, etc.

Thanks a lot for your time!

Happy holidays,
Tommi :exploding_head:

4 Likes

Crowd sourced alternative to IMDB

https://www.themoviedb.org/

Thanks for sharing, but TMDb is centralized! Furthermore, its catalogue is not very rich and you cannot import titles from other databases.

Lastly, it is not open source… how can I know that it is truly community-driven if the source code is not publicly available?

1 Like

I didnt realize this

They do data dumps, so maybe we should make an open version

1 Like