SocialCG Meeting

2020-05-09T16:00:00Z

https://www.w3.org/wiki/SocialCG#Joining_the_meeting

Second saturday of the month is today rather than last Saturday… so that would mean a meeting in one hour.

We don’t have a plan really for this meeting I think. Does anyone have anything they want to talk about?

Nobody else showed up… so I dropped it.

It does seem that the “announce a couple days before and a couple hours before” is the best path to getting people to show up… as previously, merely having a regular time doesn’t seem to result in attendance. Though:

• I am not the right person to do that. I try to remember, but I am overloaded. Please, someone step up and help set up the meeting pages and announce pre-meetings and gather topics… it would really, really help. I am not good at this.
  • I think @Sebastian mentioned there being an ical feed but I don’t know where?

sure, but i think the more pressing thing is this:

if there’s nothing to talk about, then what is there to meet about? furthermore, why is there nothing to talk about? what makes a topic worth discussing in a meeting as opposed to in a thread on this forum? i’d say there needs to be a clearer pipeline for making changes to the spec, so that expectations are set and people know when to elevate a topic to “meeting” status.

The previous SocialCG meeting post had open agenda points lik AP vs. Solid about which I’ve been trying to attract attention in Solid community. I received feedback and posted a follow-up which was moved to its own topic: How Solid and ActivityPub complement each other best and also @melvincarvalho posted info related to this Which links between ActivityPub and Solid project?

There are a number of projects interested in combining AP / LDP / Solid, like SemApps.org (who implement WebID-OIDC, I believe). Could be interesting to investigate how things fit, and keep AP / Solid on the agenda.