Grant proposal for federation in Gitea

Hi @cjs,

Only now do I discover the Go-Fed Work Tracker Megathread and the grant proposal part:

• Write NGI0 Discovery grant proposals:
    • For ActivityPub testsuite completion
    • For engineering of an OCAP-based transport/routing protocol based off of eris and scr

I would be very motivated to work with you on a grant application to implement federation in Gitea with go-fed. I have some experience and although I do not really enjoy the administrative process (I’m a developer at heart), I acknowledge that there is value in clearly articulating the goals and outline the process to get there.

To the best of my knowledge there is no ongoing call for proposal at the moment, therefore no pressure, which I like (being extremely bad at doing things at the last minute). There will however surely be at least a few open calls by the end of the year and it would help continue the effort that will hopefully be bootstrapped if a developer is motivated to take baby steps with the seed funding (tiny tiny seed :seedling: :slight_smile: ) that was made available this week to work on federation for Gitea.

What do you think?

2 Likes

Thanks for reaching out. Let’s set up some time to do a voice call and discuss the details further? If possible, evenings during the week or anytime weekends are usually the best for me. If that’s not possible, I can perhaps find a time slot during a weekday, but will have to double check.

2 Likes

What about tomorrow Sunday July 11th, 2021 11am at https://jitsi.enough.community/StraightforwardCodesDigDownstairs ? I don’t expect anyone else would be interested to join the conversation but I would not mind if you’re ok with the idea.

For the sake of transparency, I’d like to record our discussion and post it here for archival. Also I have a bad memory and that helps me keep track of things :sweat_smile: